Some companies spend a lot of money on scientific research and use animals for testing. Many argue that this is for a just cause while others say otherwise. Do the advantages of using animals in research outweigh its disadvantages?

The use of animal in scientific study has long been the subject of heated debate. Number of individuals dispute about whether conducting experiment upon animals is beneficial. The objective of this essay is to discuss about if the pros of such experiments prevail over the cons.

First and foremost, animals are widely used in medical research in order to develop new medicines that are essential to human survival. This a fact that although animals seem different to humanity, their biology is extremely similar to human's and even some kinds of animals share almost the same genes with human. Therefore, using animals for medical purposes allows people not only to understand human bodies in health and disease but also to verify the efficiency and safety of medicines on human being. Thanks to animal researches, each year there are breakthroughs and new treatments invented, such as some types of vaccines for fatal and infectious diseases.

On the other hand, abuse animals for doing testing might put many kinds of animals on the verge of extinction. At the end of most scientific studies, the animals are humanely killed so more animal researches are done, faster the loss of animal diversity happens. However, if the governments had appropriate policies on controlling these researches, they would minimize the harm to animals. For examples, only kinds of animals that are abundant might be legally used for testing and scientists should get licenses from the authorities before operating any study on animals.

In conclusion, after evaluating both positive and negative points of animal research, its benefits seem greater than its drawbacks although this issue is still debatable.