In some countries, the average worker is obliged to retire at the age of 50, while in others people can work until they are 65 or 70. It has been claimed that workers over 50 are not responsive to rapidly changing ideas in the modern workplace and that for this reason, younger workers are to be preferred. To what extent do you agree?

People's opinions differ as to whether the senior employees are responsive to changing social and economic occurring in modern workplaces or not. In my opinion, it is impossible to say young employees are more valuable rather than old employees or vice-versa because both of them have their plusses and minuses.

Truth be told, workers aging 50 years old or more are less productive in their jobs because physical changes occurring with age could mean certain jobs are more suited to a younger person. Especially in high-tech industries such as computer programming where it is so important for employees to have the capability to work with information, numbers, and calculations, being younger may be an advantage. Additionally, young people are very energetic and enthusiastic, so they can react immediately to any situation put across them at work. Additionally, younger workers have been exposed to plenty of group projects throughout their education, making them comfortable working with others. Otherwise, members of older generations may have a tendency to take on too many responsibilities and some can quite stubborn when it comes to asking for help.

However, the maturity and wisdom that comes with older workers are beneficial because of their hands-on experience and their advanced understanding of office regulations. Therefore, in some cases, they can make decisions wisely and properly better than the younger ones. Experienced workers have overcome tough challenges and will continue to do so as well as inspire younger employees to persevere the company go through the tough times and come out on top.

In conclusion, there is no evidence to support employing young people as opposed to those over 50. It would seem that a mix of the best qualities of old and young labors is advantageous to ensure the most productive working environment.