In some countries, children under 16 years old are not allowed to leave school by law and get full-time work. Is this a good or bad thing? Discuss your opinion.

There are legal systems that became school attendance mandatory until the age of 16 years old as well as stopped full-time work for children who are under 16 years old. In my opinion, this law can only be positive because it allows for the development of society and might help to tackle the poverty issue linked to the exploitation of children.

Firstly, forcing children to attend school until they are 16 years old might contribute to a better quality of life. The more children learn about different subjects, the more skills are developed and improved, which is likely to increase children's understanding about several matters of life. Consequently, as teenagers, they will undoubtedly be wiser in their decisions about their future, which is likely to contribute, for example, to a higher number of students pursuing academic studies or lower levels of criminality. Therefore, mandatory education until longer age might contribute to a more developed society.

As for the prohibition of full-time work for children aged under 16, this measure can help to reduce the levels of poverty. It is true that children do not have enough skills to perform high-level jobs and so if they get a job, they will most probably earn a ridiculously low amount of money. Taking exploitation of children in Pakistan and India as examples, in these nations, a high proportion of children work on average 12 hours per day, and they earn about one dollar per hour. Also, school attendance rates are considerably low as most children working full-time drop out of school. Consequently, child labour is likely to deter children from improving their education and obtain better jobs in the future, thus leading to a miserable society.

In summary, I believe that the existence of a law that forces children to go to school until they are 16 years old and that forbids full-time work on this age group is a positive development with high potential to contribute for a more developed society.