Both the poor and the rich find the accessibility into university difficult. Do you agree or disagree?

Although it is argued that university entry represents the same challenge regardless of financial status, I partially agree with this view. Despite higher education admission is mostly based on a grading system, there are associated costs that might turn the accessibility into a university far difficult to underprivileged students. In this essay, the importance of qualifications and financial status to enter into university will be discussed.

In theory, the accessibility into university can be difficult for rich and poor students because a set of qualifications normally constitute the first step to be successful when applying to university. This means that students have to provide evidence of certain grades which are a result of previous studies. For example, if students have not scored higher grades in subjects such as maths and sciences, the desired entrance in medicines is certainly compromised no matter how wealthy they are. Therefore, it can be argued that students who meet requirements based on grades are the only ones able to be admitted to a university.

Nevertheless, it can be said that in practice scoring good grades might not be sufficient to be able to attend university. While many underprivileged students can obtain a loan or see their academic studies funded by the government, the cost of studying goes beyond academic fees. For instance, architecture and design courses require significant investment in materials which have to be paid by students. Also, additional costs on housing, transportation and food can deter poor students from going to university even if they have the best grades because they are certainly unable to afford all the costs involved over three or four years of academic studies.

In summary, it appears that if rich students do not have good grades they can find difficult to be admitted to the university. However, for poor students it can be significantly harder to get into tertiary education because they do not only need good grades, they also have to be able to pay for their studies and other costs, a financial burden that does not constitute a problem for rich students.