In some countries a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount of people can earn.

Discuss both view and give your opinion

Salary and benefits have emerged as the foremost contemporary concerns in the entire society. There are various discussions about the unbalanced earning in society. The employees have suggested that the policy makers should control the salaries between employees. This paper will discuss both views and provide a static opinion for the given issues.

According to a report published by the World Bank in 2021, the mean of income in Vietnam is $2,000 dollars per month. Therefore, the employees who earn higher than that range could be considered as the high incomes, while those of lower than $2000 dollars are counted as low incomes. The high incomes are usually the people who hold a minimum of senior level in the enterprise while the low incomes are the new graduates and the junior staffs. This is relatively fair because they will be paid for the workload and the responsibilities in their jobs. The higher pay rates, the more stressful and sacrifices to complete the tasks given by the company. To sum up, for the given reasons, extremely high wages must be given to the senior levels who have higher responsibilities than the executive levels.

Extremely high salaries are one of the human resources strategic tools to attract and retain the highest talents and scare human resources. For example, in some critical areas such as data scientist which have limited talents in both national and international. Therefore, offering them high salaries and attractive reimbursement will potentially create an ideal place to recruit them. This strategy is based on the ideal theory of extrinsic motivation. Extrinsic motivation rewards the employees with wages, benefits, and compensation.

However, there would be negative consequences of unbalanced pay rates in society. One of them is the income gap which creates the rich-and-poor gap in society. This gap has emerged in both developed and emerging economies. Some contemporary issues such as lack of houses, healthcare accessibility, educational services, and the diminished transportation infrastructures. Therefore, to obstacles these issues, policy makers have suggested the government to issue the personal income tax law based on the percentage of salaries they receive with the purpose of reducing the gap and use the taxes to support the public services.

In conclusion, high salaries would be an ideal strategy to attract human resources and motivate the employees. It encourages and attracts talents to contribute to the development of firms and nations. With the arising negative to the public services caused by extremely high wages, the government has issued some legislations and policies to control and create a better working condition for the people.