Some countries have come to rely on tourism as their major source of income. However, many people believe that the problems caused by tourism are more serious than those it has solve. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Tourism has been one of important aspects in economic sector for many countries. Some people consider that tourism is an answer for national issues, while others believe that tourism brings negative consequences. It is undeniably true that tourism damages the nature. However, I believe that the benefits brought by this activity such as new economic opportunities and chance for the local people to learn new languages are more advantages.

In many countries, tourism causes environmental crisis since many of them are environmentally unconscious. The overuse of plastic by visitors in Phuket – Thailand, for instance, causes water pollution and endangers water ecosystem. Not only this makes the local government have to invest a large amount of money to solve the environmental problems but also risks local inhabitant’s incomes depending on marine resources such as fishers.

Nevertheless, tourism is proven as a valuable economic commodity for many countries in the world since it provides plenty of financial opportunities for local inhabitants such as opening hotel and restaurant businesses. These businesses have been employing numerous workforces and, it lowers unemployment rate in the nations. As a result, tourism might raise the nation’s prosperities. In addition, tourism also links to an improvement of local people’s language skills. Many local occupants need to learn new languages to communicate with visitors. This new skill helps them to absorb more information and to increase their insight, which eventually makes them becoming competent human resources.

In conclusion, despite having negative impacts for environment, I believe that the merits brought by this activity such as economic advantages and new skills for local people more beneficial for the countries.