In some countries a high proportion of criminal acts are committed by teenagers Why has this happened What are some effects

The number of youth crime is rife in recent years. This essay will discuss several reasons for the increase in juvenile delinquency and a number of ways to tackle this issue.

On the one hand, there are some factors which are responsible for young offender crimes. To begin with, extreme behaviours are exhibited by most children from dysfunctional families.The lack of supervision from parents or caregivers might be a culprit for extreme behaviours such as aggression,hostility or defiance. Out of boredom, children can also befriend with antisocial peers and imitate their behaviours. In addition,media plays an enormous role in shaping children’s personality. For instance, some games such as PUBG can densensitise younger players to extreme acts of violence and cruelty,encouraging them to commit crimes while giving them the impression that it is morally acceptable to do so.

On the other hand,measures can be taken to mitigate the growth in the number of youth offenders. To specific, imprisonment is often citied as a way to punish juvenile offenders. However, from my perspective, this approach can produce extremely destructive effects. The youth can potentially be victims of physical or sexual abuse from older offenders. Besides, criminal record makes finding a job more difficult/ challenging. I strongly suggest that the better cure is probably rehabilitation. Prisoners can receive education of vocational training; therefore, they will realise their wrongful actions and be given opportunities to turn over a new leaf,contributing to better society.

In conclusion,this essay acknowledges that there is a correlation between the increase in antisocial behaviours among the teenager and several contributors including disfunctional family and social media. Personaly,I recommend that rehabilitation is the answer for this problem.