In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In an accelerating pace of life nowadays, the rate of people who prefer eating fast food to home-made food is on the increase. However, people have been arguing that young generations are experiencing numerous health issues due to the excess consumption of fast food. Therefore, there has been heated debate whether or not policymakers should levy a higher tax to reduce the expenditure on this detrimental product. This writing will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of tax policy imposed on fast food prior to reaching the reasoned conclusion.

There is a widespread belief that a higher tax is essential to cut down the number of residents buying fast food. A harmful effect of junk food on human being’s health is one of the most important reasons for governments to increase the price of this food. Specifically, fast food is prepared with low-quality ingredients and contains artificial preservatives, which results in poor nutrition along with poor health. One research has shown that countries such as the USA, Canada, China that consume the most fast food throughout the world are suffering from myriad health problems, namely obesity, diabetes, high cholesterol, stroke, heart diseases and so forth. Moreover, this amount of taxes can help fund the public services, healthcare systems, etc. As a result, levying tax can be a positive approach to hamper the negative outcomes of eating fast-food products.

There are those who contend that increasing tax on fast food has some merits on the surface. Indeed, higher price of junk food may place a financial burden on the citizens, especially students who have less earnings. Because high school and university students are the main customer groups of fast food restaurants, higher taxes on fast food make them pay more money for their meals. Additionally, in the modern life of 21st century, almost everyone is busy and has no time to cook at home; therefore, fast food is a primary solution for many households due to its convenience. Take, for instance, college students or office workers prefer buying fast food near their schools or workplaces to waiting half an hour for their healthy meals in their lunch time. Consequently, a new tax policy on fast food is inappropriate method in the long term.

In conclusion, imposing a greater amount of tax on fast-food products can decrease the number of buyers, thus preventing many diseases. However, it is not a good choice for the long time, as it may lead to extra daily expenses. Hence, it is recommended that other nutritious food should be made cheaper and more convenient.