3.0

(2 votes)

34615 02 Jan 2018

In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Concerning the issue of whether the government should impose on a strict regulation impose high taxes on junk food as it is highly likely to bear negative impacts on people health. In my opinion, it has both strengths and weaknesses in equal measure.

On the one hand, putting a very high tax rate on fast food would bring about a number of benefits for not only consumers but also businesses. Certainly, people health may be controlled and regulated more effectively than ever, especially for children who actually crave for eating a variety of kinds of fast food such as potato chips, fried chicken, etc. More specifically, the rates of patients surrering obesity and cardiovascular disease would be diminished significantly because harmful substances are mostly rejected by pervasive precaution on social media by the government's endorsement. Moreover, those fast food is often overpriced, people tend to change eating habit by opting more reasonsable and

affordable substitutes, which is in line with their income brackets/levels. The manufacturers begin to produce organically ready-to-eat foods available on shelves for health-conscious consumers. This helps totally abolish outdated food consumption manner.

On the other hand, increasing in fast food's tax can exert several undesirable effects on the operation of businesses. First and foremost, high taxation is the principal reason, causing the majority of manufacturers, distributors, and retailers are on the verge of bankruptcy. Obviously, purchasers tend to choose kinds of food which contain healthier ingredients instead of harmful ones when they are well-informed and aware of its far- reaching consequences via media platforms. Secondly, the increasing tax levied on fast- food means the workforce is made redundant to cut back on operation expenses.

In conclusion, I am convinced that imposing a high tax on fast food is appropriate in order to prevent health issues. However, in particular, it could entail drawbacks which leaves on negativity on businesses.