In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Research has proven that frequent consumption of fast food affects a person's health due to high quantity of sodium and saturated fats found in the food. As more and more people are consuming it due to hectic lifestyles and out of convenience, I agree with the idea that governments should tax fast food so as to discourage people from having it.

Needless to say, we are aware of the disadvantages that come along with a tray of Happy Meal or a bucket of Kentucky Fried Chicken. Despite many health warnings, people still choose to be ignorant about the consequences of consuming fast food. Heart diseases, severe obesity, and high blood pressure are some health problems that are commonly reported as a result of frequent eating of it. These health problems might have adverse effects on our daily lives. For instance, youths love to devour mouthful of french fries usually without conscious effort to ponder about the negative effects that come with it. An over consumption of it might reduce their productivity rate because high fat content foods make a person feels sleepy. It would also lead to lethargic behaviour and thus affecting their concentration in class. This might then result in a dip in their academic results. Furthermore, when a student becomes severely obese, they might be ostracised by their peers in school. Friends might bully or jeer at him, thus causing psychological damage. Thus, I feel that fast food should be discouraged by increasing its prices with a tax.

Next, discouraging the consumption of fast food by increasing its prices is also a good move because its existence might cause an erosion of local food cultures. Nowadays, young people feel that fast food is a trendy and hip place to dine with their friends. On the other hand, local foods would appear boring, dull and cheap. Due to preference, local food culture might be forgotten, or even rejected by the youths. This is an upsetting trend because youths might lose their cultural roots and identify more with a foreign culture. If this happens, how can a society retain its unique characters and heritage? This negative effect would definitely be considered detrimental by all governments because it would also dilute the people's sense of rootedness and belonging that are necessary for nation building. Hence, it is a sound idea for governments to jerk up the costs of fast food to discourage this.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the notion of hiking up prices so as to deter the consumption of unhealthy food because it does not only affect our health, it might also affect our unique cultural foods.