In some countries it is now illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age.Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, a number of countries prohibit employers from rejecting candidates on the basis of age. While this statement could be considered as a positive development, it is also a negative one.

To begin with, prohibiting companies to refuse their candidates predicted on their age might reduce the unemployment rate. By knowing that there is the likelihood of being recruited, applicants of all ages would be more motivated to strive for their desired jobs. As a result, more citizens might have more opportunities to get stably employed leading to a decline in the unemployment rate. If companies and governments stop employing people of all ages, it might increase the number of people who do not work. These individuals might involve themselves in criminal acts, thus, leading to an increase in the rate of crime.

On the other hand, prohibiting age discrimination in recruitment would have devastating influences on over-aged individuals.When they get older, their health would weaken, which makes them incapable of adapting to the demands of their jobs, especially physically demanding occupations like construction. If aged people continue to carry heavy loads or use a lot of force for pulling, lifting heavy objects at the construction site, they might frequently feel exhausted and they might have to be confronted with physical fatigue. As a result, they would suffer from several diseases related to musculoskeletal systems such as osteoarthritis.

In conclusion, I believe that prohibiting the rejection of applicants based on their age is a both negative and positive development since this would mitigate the unemployment rate. However, this would badly affect old labours health