In some countries it is now possible for people to buy wide variety of foods transported from all over the world. To what extent do the benefits of this development outweigh the drawbacks?

It is true that these days people in few countries are able to buy different kind of foods which come from other parts of the world. In my opinion, the benefits of getting food abroad far greater than its drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are some minor disadvantages of transported food. The first main disadvantage is foodborne illnesses and deaths. For example, last year by some universities were estimated that over a half million foodborne illnesses occur annually in the world. As a result, over a hundred thousand cases requiring hospitalization, and about one thousand ends with lethal outcomes. Another additional disadvantage of this is, it addicts people to international food. As a consequence, people are likely to forget or stop eating traditional food, which may impact the cuisine of a country.

While transported food can bring immediate drawbacks, I am convicted that it is more likely to have long-term benefits for society and government. Firstly, foods from abroad always have a high quality. When foods are being imported, their quality is always checked and only the best products end up on markets. Secondly, imported food gives people access to more choices. For instance, some countries climate and land don’t allow growing all sorts of fruits and vegetables throughout the year, and in that case thanks to imported foods that people can have any time they desire.

In conclusion, despite some negative aspects, it seems to me that the assets of transported food are more significant for the reasons mentioned.