In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this materialistic world, in several nations, particularly in cities, many people prefer to lead an independent life. While this tendency has some positive aspects that enhance personal skills and improve the financial status, I believe this might lead to some other problems later in their life.

On the one hand, people choose solo life for several reasons. One among them is the independency. It is seen that people living alone are responsible to look after many things such as cooking, cleaning, purchasing commodities, and balancing job-related work. A recent survey conducted by a popular magazine, The Week, is a testimony for this, where 69% of youngsters who lead individual life are familiar with the above basic skills rather than who stay in a joint family. Another main advantage is the economical perspective. Those who live alone can probably save money due to lesser expenditure when compared to the conventional way of living. Thus, they can utilise it for personal needs like hangouts, dine out which may not be possible in a joint family.

However, this trend has some drawbacks as well. The major disadvantage is that leading a solo life may cause various psychological issues. In many developed countries, the number of people suffering from depression is escalating day by day. Isolation could be the major reason for this. Unlike the bygone days, there is no one for sharing and caring. This, in turn, leads to a stressful mind resulting in depression. Yet another problem related to this is the increased use of drugs and involvement in social habits among adults. Many studies indicate that no matter how educated a person is, isolation and solitude can make an individual addicted to drugs and alcohol.

To recapitulate, people can reap some benefits from individual life regarding personal development and economic status. Nevertheless, I firmly hold the view that this can cause some negative impact on their lives in the long run.