Schools have the social responsibility to discourage children from eating junk food. Others think it is the parent’s responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this modern world, fast food has become an eating habit among children which poses many health risks. As such, some health experts believe that educational institutions play a pivotal role in preventing students from consuming processed food, while others argue that the parent should restrict their ward’s unhealthy eating habit. This essay discusses both the views in detail and states my opinion.

Since teachers are an inspiration for the young pupils, they are of great significance in creating awareness among the young ones about the negative impacts of junk food such as obesity and hypertension. For example, they can show posters and documentaries depicting the harmful effects of such food and also organise school excursions to farms and fields to impart knowledge about organic foods and vegetables. Moreover, school authorities have the responsibility of regulating the foods prepared in the canteen by replacing the oily foods with much healthier vegetables and fruits, thus contributing to the overall well-being of the pupils. Hence, learning centres are imperative in inculcating healthy diet patterns into the students as they spend a major amount of their time in school.

However, parents are the primary teachers and role models for their ward. The young ones usually tend to imitate what the elders do. Therefore, to introduce healthy food habits, parents should increase their intake of vegetables and fruits first. Furthermore, the caregivers should also prepare nutritious diets at home so that the wards are exposed to the nutrient-rich food from a tender age, which later gets inculcated into practice in their life. Therefore, parental guidance is crucial to the proper upbringing of their wards.

In conclusion, although mother and father have an important role in instilling their children with healthy eating habits, I believe that schools hold a major role in discouraging students from eating junk food through proper health education. This would have long-lasting benefits on the students, improving their physical and mental fitness.