In some countries many young people choose to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies Discuss the advantages and disadvantages

In recent years, an increased number of youngsters set their sights on taking a gap year before entering universities. From my perspective, this phenomenon can bring about both advantages and disadvantages. In this essay, I would discuss both sides of the matter and clarify my opinion.

On the one hand, there is no denying that teenagers would reap numerous benefits from taking a year off. The greatest upside of this decision is that it grants them a chance to gain hands-on experiences and acquire essential life skills. As a matter of fact, ups and downs in life are ineluctable. Once getting exposed to real-life society, young people would encounter a myriad of inevitable predicaments. Thanks to these exposures, they have a chance to become inured to the hardships and bolster their problem-solving skills. As a result, those who intend to work or travel for a year after graduating from high school tend to be more mature and persevere compared with their peers. In addition, the gap year experiences enable youngsters to make a wise decision about which major to study at universities. It is prevalent among high school students to be in a quandary about their future career path. Therefore, regardless of personal interests and abilities, they are likely to choose the areas of specialization that constitute trendy and promising like economy, law or medicine. Obviously, these snap decisions could lead to the fact that going to university is a waste of time. That is why it is advisable for teenagers to spend a year doing an internship and trying different types of occupations in order to determine their passion and job aptitudes.

On the other hand, to some extent, taking a gap year has some dire consequences for the development of young people. Firstly, a child’s moral values can be altered in a negative way due to the impacts of the environment surrounding them. During a year-off, teenagers would interact with many strangers of disparate backgrounds and personalities. These social relationships probably exert a detrimental influence on youngsters’ perceptions and outlook on life. They would be easily led astray by bad friends and engage in illegal activities such as drug abuse, violent attacks, or vandalism. The situation deteriorates when they lose their enthusiasm for studying. Another minus point of this choice is that taking a year off necessitates further spending of money to meet daily demands involving foods and drinks, transportation, accommodation, and traveling. Hence, if young people are quite inept at managing their budget, they tend to get into serious debt.

In conclusion, I believe that pursuing tertiary education is not the sole way to achieve success because high school students can derive various remarkable benefits from taking a gap year. However, as I have mentioned, this audacious decision is apparently associated with many risks and deleterious effects.