It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films, and the Internet. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that the necessity of traveling has been paled into insignificance as the tremendous advancement of media has enabled people to learn about a new culture from books, films, and the Internet. However, I would contend that traveling still brings about incomparable experiences that cannot be derived from any other materials.

To begin with, it is difficult to refute the idea that knowledge related to culture would be easily accumulated from books, films, and websites without a need for spending money on traveling. In this day and age, it is prevalent among people to share about their exhilarating times spent in new places via reviews, pictures, or vlogs. In this way, web users are capable of grasping new cultural knowledge more conveniently and economically. In addition, books or movies also constitute a reservoir of knowledge where people can learn about the culture. For instance, when watching a foreign movie, watchers can broaden their point of view about the lifestyle of local people through the personality traits and clothes of film characters.

However, I personally believe that traveling is considered to be an irreplaceable approach to new patterns of culture. The primary reason for this sentiment is that setting foot in new lands would bring about first-hand experiences which could not be stemmed from books, films, or the Internet, such as communicating with indigenous people, trying local delicacies, and visiting numerous tourist sites. Therefore, travelers are able to gain a deeper insight into the customs of the locals and their regional cuisine based on their own exposure and feelings. Meanwhile, information got from other sources is likely to be subjective and distort the truth. To illustrate this point of view, a majority of foreigners are under the impression that Vietnamese people wear conventional clothes and conical hats on a regular basis. No sooner had they paid a visit to Vietnam than they realized that it is a common fallacy. Accordingly, traveling is worth a try.

In conclusion, even though traveling still has some shortcomings, this way of exploring new cultures would not be superseded by any other sources of information like films, books, and the Internet.