In some countries, more and more adults are continuing to live with their parents even after they had completed education and found job. Do the advantageous out weight the disadvantages?

In recent years, the number of grown people living with their moms and dads has increased despite their accomplished education as well as promising careers. Opinions are divided on whether this trend may lead to social advantages or disadvantages. This essay will argue whether the merits outweigh the demerits.

On the one hand, for a variety of reasons, such as parental dependance as well as the generation gap, living with parents after the legal age can bring negative influences. First and foremost, most people, before becoming an adult, have spent the majority of their time in the same house and have received care from their guardians. It is therefore logical that they keep depending on parental treatments, and refuse to go outside of their comfort zone. As a result, the consequences of that phenomenon will hinder the society’s development. Secondly, due to the gap among generations, arguments will often lead to despair rather than satisfaction. People from two distinguished times tend to have different viewpoints towards a problem, which may cause unwanted debates in a family.

On the other hand, there are many reasons, be it the increase price of accommodation and assistance from parents, to explain why a number of adults choose to live under the same roof as their parents. It cannot be denied that global development and inflation are making housing costs double, or even triple than how they used to be. In order to save money for other crucial purposes, they have a tendency to live with their parents in the same house, hence they can reduce the costs for accommodation. In addition, hardly can an adult do both of housework and working tasks simultaneously successfully, thus they find support from their parents. The support is not necessary financially, but also mentally. For instance, during Covid-19 lockdown, many people returned to live with their mothers and fathers as a mental support and the development for the family’s happiness.

In conclusion, it cannot be denied that living with parents can bring both benefits and drawbacks. Even though there are admittedly several drawbacks, I believe that the advantages of this growing development are more significant.