In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What types of changes are occurring?

Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Family has undoubtedly been an integral part of society, with its dynamics unchanged since the dawn of time. Nevertheless, society’s evolution is commensurate with changes in aspects of life, including the autonomy of a family. Personally, it is my contention that the positives brought about by these alterations far outweigh its negatives.

To commence with, when it comes to structural moderations, the most prevalent is the vast variety in the components of a household. Terms like single-parent family, adoptive family, same-sex family, et cetera are invented to adapt to this new development. For the first time the word ‘family’ are not restricted to those bound by the bonds of blood, but by the bonds of commitment and care. To explicite, a household now can comprises a gay or heterosexual couple, paving the way for the acquisition of a happy home for many individuals without confiding to social conventions. The human drive for happiness is one of the most fundamental needs that our society runs on, and pushing the boundaries of what it means to be a family not only fuels it, it further expanded on it.

Another change to acknowledge is regarding the household positions. With the roles interchangeable, the tile of home-maker or breadwinner can now be applied to any member of a family regardless of their sex. For instand, mothers can now choose to take on a more male-dominant position of the financial provider, and fathers can adhere to the more feminen role of a stay-at-home parent. This newly found diversity not only applies to the domestic sector, but also the working one. With more women encouraged to pursue their professional career, promoting inclusivity in the workplace, it increases the volume of human resources by enhancing the demographic for employees.

To encapsulate, though opinions are divided, I am of the firm-seated belief that reshaping the definition of family is drastically changing various aspects of our lives for the better, referencing the arguments above. Regarding this development, it is society’s job as a whole to futher amplify the merits of the case.