In some countries, people are having children at later age in life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is witnessed in some nations that many people are inclined to give birth at an older age. This essay will elaborate on some underlying causes of this tendency and argue that positive effects are more significant than negative ones.

While explanations for this trend vary, there are two primary factors contributing to delayed childbirth. First and foremost, in the developed world, the labor market and the living costs become more hostile which are highly demanding personal time and endeavor to survive. Therefore, young adults spend the first years of their adulthood laying a concrete foundation for their careers rather than getting married early and raising offspring. The second reason worth mentioning is the increasing financial responsibilities of raising a child. It is evident from the ascending inflation rate and price hikes in accommodation, nourishment, medical care, clothes, and education fees for babies. Therefore, many young people prioritize saving and establishing sound financial sources before embarking on parenthood.

Although there are a few drawbacks, I believe that late parenthood exerts a more advantageous influence on society and families. From the positive perspective, it brings to the betterment of life quality and comprehensive education for children if they are born to prosperous and experienced parents. As a result, they can contribute more to society when they grow up. Additionally, parents may also reap the benefits of this trend to achieve certain professional milestones, as their first working years are not interrupted by pregnancy and childcare. On the one hand, one of the main negative impacts is that the longer the childbirth deferment is, the more health risks women may face, such as the risk of miscarriage or premature birth. Fortunately, such dangers could be prevented thanks to advanced medical technology so this drawback is not considerable.

In conclusion, people in some countries do not put the top priority on having children at an earlier age due to their high regard for their careers and the belief that a better financial state will be better for a child. Personally, I believe the positive effects outweigh the demerits.