In some countries people spend longer time at work. Why does this happen? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people are likely to allocate more time for work. This can be attributed to their demand for income and their huge workload, and in my opinion, it does more harm than good.

The first reason why people work extra hours is that they want to earn more money. The cost of living, such as the rent, the bill and grocery shopping, is increasing rapidly and financially burdens many workers, especially those whose salaries can not afford such expenses. This means that they have to do overtime to have enough financial resources to accommodate living expenses. Another reason is their career aspirations. Some workers, especially the young workers and interns, want to gain more knowledge and experiences of their work and improve their competence so that they could easily get promoted in the future. Therefore, they will have to face such huge workloads.

Although I acknowledge the advantages of this trend, I would argue that its potential risks of both physical and mental well-being problems are far more significant. Firstly, spending too much time working means that employees might be deprived of their time for relaxation, doing exercises, or even sleeping and eating. In the long run, it may cause a lot of health diseases such as digestive disorders and cardiovascular diseases. Moreover, immersing in work and forgetting to spend time on leisure pursuits or gathering with the beloved ones can lead to relationship breakdown, stress and depression. All of this will disrupt and reduce work efficiency, thus defeating the object of extended working hours.

In conclusion, the financial burden and an enormous number of work tasks had led to the tendency for workers to work overtime. Because of its threats to people’s physical and mental health, I consider it an unwelcome development.