In some countries police officers do not carry guns. How does this affect the manner they implement law and order? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a gun. Provide specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

There is no doubt that to maintain law and order in any nation police department plays a crucial role in it. While, there are various advantages of keeping an ammunition, we should also consider the disadvantages of possessing those. In this essay, we will discuss both benefits and drawbacks of having a gun, giving relevant examples wherever necessary.

Firstly, one of the main advantages of possessing an ammunition by police personals are self- protection. This is because, a mob can loose their emotional control, which may lead to an aggressive action against these officers. For example, in my own experience, being a reporter I witnessed a bad conflict between government officers and a crowd, which ended in a massive bloodshed for purpose of self- defense. In contrast, arms in possession of any corrupt officer can be misused against an innocent person. As a result, people began to loose trust in the government thus leading to an unsettled nation.

On the other hand, one of the important disadvantages of acquiring a gun is misusing it whenever desired. The reason is, the corruption and mental instability in any person, which creates a pseudo- sense of supreme power and control on anyone’s life. For instance, according to a report published in the New York Times in 2017, a police officer who suffered from mental illness called Schizophrenia, killed all his family members with his official ammunition because he suspected them to be aliens. As a consequence, this inhuman incident highlighted many possibilities that should be considered by any administration before permitting a license for gun. Therefore, it depends on a person’s intellectual development and personality to behave appropriately while possessing an ammunition.

In conclusion, while the most relevant advantage of possessing a gun is for self- defense, the disadvantage of misusing it should also be considered by the authorities.