In some countries, some high school leavers are choosing to work or travel for a period of time before going to university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of those school leavers’ decision. Give your own opinion.

Topic: In some countries, some high school leavers are choosing to work or travel for a period of time before going to university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of those school leavers’ decision. Give your own opinion.

After graduating from high school, some students tend to get a job or go on a trip for some time before university life. While I accept that there are drawbacks of this decision, I would argue that it is better to take a gap year to work or travel.

The option to get a job or travel straight after school is disadvantageous to some extent. The main shortcoming is that a number of graduating students who choose this option may start their professional careers later than their fellows who do not choose to get a job or go on a trip after high school. As a result, these students might get a promoted later in their careers. In addition, travelling costs a great deal. If students travel right after high school, they may not earn enough money and have to ask their parents for financial help. Therefore, it is not advisable that people should take this option.

On the other hand, it seems to me that high school seniors should choose to work or travel for a period of time because of some undeniable advantages. First, working and travelling are both good chances for them to gain some valuable experience. My sister, for example, travel to Tokyo during her gap year. By spending time in Tokyo, she was able to hear, speak, read and write the Japan language constantly which gave her countless opportunities to improve Japan skills. Second, taking a year out helps young graduates clarify their study and career future. In other words, they can do various jobs without long-term commitment, and discover what might be right for in terms of a future career path.

In conclusion, I believe that there are many advantages to young people who start working or travelling prior to beginning their university studies, although this decision has some notable disadvantages.