Young people should spend more time on cultural activities such as music and theatre and less time sport. How far do you agree with this statement ?

No one can deny the fact that sport is favourable to people. However, many teenagers spend a great deal of time on sport. In my opinion, young people need to participate in more cultural activities than sports because of the following reasons.

Participating in cultural activities brings a lot of clear benefits to people. Firstly, it yields various psychological rewards because it helps us relax and reduce stress. For example, every time I am under stress, I usually go to the theatre to see a comedy film with my best friends at night weekend. This helps me feel happier and more comfortable. Secondly, we are able to broaden our understanding of the culture and history of our country. For instance, if we take part in a local festival, we will have a good chance to understand the reason and meaning of this festival by attending its activities. We don’t need to look for this information on the Internet, thanks to enjoyable activities of festivals we can easily learn new things.

Moreover, by attending cultural activities, young people can develop the interaction with others. As a result, we will have a lot of new friends and build new relationships with the people around us. Besides, these activities help remain and develop traditional cultural activities of the country. My aunt, for example, took part in a flower festival in Da Lat and she shared her valuable experiences at the festival with my family members. From that time, my family regularly participate in it every year. This lead to cultural activities become popular than before because a vast majority of people know them.

In conclusion, I believe that we should spend more time to participate in cultural activities because there are plenty of advantages including mental rewards, interaction with people, knowledge and the long-term survival of cultural activities.