In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between

finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and

disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Gap year or sabbatical year is quite popular in developed country. It is the period of time between finishing high school and starting university studies that young people spent traveling or working. Besides bringing many benefits, gap year is also contains a lot of disadvantage.

To begin with, taking a gap year can give young people an opportunity to discover their true passion and think about the major they will study at the university. Nowadays many young people cannot identify the person they want to be in the future because of the learning pressure and time consuming on video games and social networks. Secondly, gap year helps young people to improve their skill for the college life. This gives them a chance to communicate, socialize and improve their attitude. After a gap year the future freshman will become more mature and well-prepare for the long journey waiting ahead. Last but not least, the gap year provide a completely different way to learn. Instead of simply reading a book, they learn from experience and failure.

Beside the advantage it brings, gap year also has many disadvantages. Firstly, the cost of a gap year is relatively expensive and not everyone can afford it. Many young people choose to have a part-time job as a gap year to save money. Moreover, taking a gap year can be very stressful from the talk and countless things to do. Homesickness and anxiety about the future make it difficult for many people to fully complete it. The gap year, in a positive or negative way, possibly change your life forever