In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Traveling is something which shapes up the personality of a human being in a better way. It changes the perspective of a person and that is why it should be encouraged from a very early age. However, traveling should also be limited to a certain extent so that it doesn't shift a student's focus from his study. In some countries in the world young people are greatly encouraged to take a year off after finishing their higher studies and go for traveling in this period. Even though it creates a very good impact on their lives, it has certain disadvantages too and they have been discussed in this task.

First of all, traveling is something which is very important for building up the character of a human being. If a person travels at an early age then they get introduced to different cultures, they gain numerous life experiences. For example, the perspective of Asian subcontinental people is quite different than that of European people. European cities are more cosmopolitan and the people living there are more open to changes. On the contrary, Asian people are more accustomed to the struggles of their lives and this eventually makes them more hardworking. Now if an Asian student gets a chance to travel to Europe after completing their high school and they get to live a year in Europe then there will definitely be a fusion of both lifestyles in the outlook to that student. This will help the student to understand what he wants out of his life and what is the subject that he wants to take in his university life.  As a result of this, the decision-making ability of a student will improve enormously.

Secondly, traveling helps a student to become more self-independent as well. If a student travels to a foreign country and lives there all by himself then this will definitely help him to become self-independent. In a foreign country, a student will have to do all the works by himself and he will know that if he messes up, he won't have anyone who will look after him. This idea will mold his career in a better way and this will teach him to make better decisions in the future.

However, taking a whole year off from study might hamper the focus of a student as well. If a student stays away from his study completely for a year then he might not go back to his studies at all. Men sometimes become slaves to their habits and that is getting completely detached from studying for a year is not good. But if the student stays in touch with his studies even though he is staying abroad for a year and participates in education-related activities then this difficulty can be overcome.

In conclusion, we can say that traveling in abroad for a year shapes up the future of a student in a better as it helps a student to become self-independent. But, throughout this year they should not get detached to their studies completely.