In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between high school and starting university studies

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

That most of Vietnamese high school students start higher education without taking any break has been the norm, however, students in several western countries hold a different idea of when to go to university. Many of them choose to have a gap year instead of starting tertiary education right after high school. Although gap year has been a popular option after high school in many developed countries, it still has some drawbacks as well as benefits.

In terms of plus points, young people who spend a year or more to get involved in working or backpacking have chances to gain knowledge from everywhere they go and whatever they do. Commitment to step out of one’s comfort zone gives the young hands-on experiences, valuable life lessons and make them become better-self. Moreover, gap year also help students discover their passions thus to decide future job. To illustrate that my friend Maddy, a foreigner, who had no idea about her life when she was eighteen. Therefore, after graduating from high school, she decided to spend two years in some Asia countries, she has been working at numerous of occupations, from waitress, assistant to teacher then manager. Thanks to those hardworking times, she eventually found her passion and will come back to her hometown and start college soon.

Nevertheless, when it comes to gap year, there are also some downsides may concern students. A long break possibly makes students lose their interest and studying pace when back to school. Even a summer vacation could brainwash knowledge away from students, this is a year! Besides, there is no doubt that tertiary education has a link with high school studies thus starting higher education straight forward seems to be quite legitimate.

In a nutshell, gap year could help you but it also may do harm to you. whether it has merits or hindrances for the young depends on how each person spends or wastes it.