Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Gender gap in universities, specifically in many subjects has become a debatable matter. Male-female imbalance in STEM is frequent as the proportion of male students is eight times as much as female students. Female students in Humanity and Art fields outnumber their male encounters by three to one. I am of the opinion that universities should enroll both female and male students with the same amount in every subject.

Firstly, the more gender gap widens the more chances discrimination takes place. It is clear that a female-dominated class makes the minority less open themselves and become more reserved, which may inhibit the other gender’s development and lead to weak performance at school. It also goes the other way around. As an example, there is only one guy in my class and he is usually quiet and seems to be isolated because there is no other male student could talk and share with him.

Secondly, class has equivalent in genders improves students’ communication skills especially in intimate relationship with the opposite sex. It is crucial for both male and female to have a suitable environment to make friend with the opposite gender. Many people believe that if a man or a woman stays in a one gender community for a long period of time, they will eventually struggle to befriend and even and talk to the other sex in a comfortable way.

All in all, universities should address the gender gap issue and set an objective of recruiting more men or women in all subjects to create a decent equity