in some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studied

Many may say, but taking a year gap between finishing high school and starting university is kind of a beneficial thing for the young people.

It could be a new and exciting experience for them. Many high schools encourage them to travel or work in other countries in order to gain some good experiences and should have a good working environment.

The high school provides a programme like twinning in which few time they will spend in their high school and the remaining time they will work in real time environment . In accordance with this, they get to know about the other country culture, their people, their standard of living

and these could be a great experience for them. Travelling to other places and learning new things will enhance their professional and personal things in up-front. Moreover, when they complete their high school and move to university for higher studies, the experience and the knowledge they have gain could be an advantage for them over their peers. They understand things practically and logically rather than grasping them theoretically.

So, in the end I would say a year gap for travel or work could be a beneficial thing for young people to improve their understanding about things logically and practically.