IN some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing school and starting university studies. Discuss advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Gap year is a period of time between finishing secondary school and starting university that students spend on work or travel . It is boardly practiced in some countries. The merits and demerits are heated debated.

The disadvantage of gap year is that students realised they have wasted one whole year without any accomplishment. A gap year for working normally involve low-paid and undet stature job, which facilicate little for career after graduation. Further more, a gap year for travel worth less than studying in university. Thus, one precious year of youth is wasted for no gain comparing attend university right after graduation form senior higt school. In the latter situation, students start tegraduate one year early form university chich renders one year spare in their career.

One of the advantages of gap year is that students acknowledge the concept of work and income if they worked in gap year. Having a job indicates the independence of financy which require making ends meet the income. The working experience benefits students when they start their career. They will be better at managing personal economy and live a financially indenpent life. For instance, students with early working experence are capable of controling their expense within income and avoid recession to dependent financial situation.

Another advantage of gap year is that students develop social skills it they traveled in theri gap year. The best part of travelling it meeting different people, which facilitales social skills. Students have to communicate with different people in their journey, which requires skills to deal with. They improve their social skill in the process. The experience will benefits their working life when they graduate from university and commence their career. For example, students solve daily conflict better if they have the same experience during gap year.

To recapitulate, gap year has merits and flaws. The merit is a unique experience for whether latter working life or social skills. The flaw is students wasted theri time for nothing. It is students discretion of whether or not take a gap year before enrolling in universtiy.