In some countries, young people are not only richer but also safer and healthier than ever before. However, they are less happy.

What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

In many parts of the world, although the youth make more money and process better health conditions, they are not as satisfied as they were in the past. Thus, it is the aim of this essay to unveil the reasons behind this phenomenon and propose solutions to tackle it.

The main causes of the degradation of happiness among young people are independence and the stress from making ends meet. To begin with, parents are sometimes so caught up in their jobs that they have little time for their offspring. As a result, children grow up and are liable to make a decision themselves. They, in turn, from the lifetime habit of doing everything on their own; moreover, what is even worse is that some choose to isolate themselves and enjoy the feeling of solitude. This culminates in the decrease in people’s frequency of communicating, which is one of the most crucial factors leading to unhappiness. Another justification worth mentioning is that the youth have a propensity for neglecting their mental health as they can not allocate sufficient time to relax and get rid of their hectic workload. For example, some would opt for working overtime instead of going on a holiday because by proving that they are devoted to their companies, they can climb the promotion ladder more easily. What can be inferred from this is that the lack of free time due to making a living causes unhappiness among young people.

However, measures can be taken to provide solutions to the trend. One of them is parents equipping children with their supervision. Not only does this help the youth to develop fully but the parents can also keep children on the right track by giving them advice. Another solution is that people should prioritise and treasure their relationship with others; furthermore, they are necessitated to concentrate less on jobs and money. By doing so, the youth can spend more time on entertaining and strengthening their bonds with others; consequently, it works wonders for their recreational processes and increases positive emotions.

In conclusion, I believe too much self-sufficiency and overwhelming workload result in the problem. However, we can curb it by looking after our children and saving more time for ourselves as well as our beloved ones.