Some people think that children should start formal education at schools as early as possible, others feel that the children should go to schools when they are at least seven years old. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this knowledge-based economy, some parents have a propensity for sending their children to schools at a young age; conversely, others are of the opinion that not until children reach the age of seven are they necessitated to enrol in learning. From my perspective, children should be the ones to make a decision about when to start going to schools.

One evident benefit to attending schools early is that the longer one learns, the more he can broaden his knowledge. As a result, adults can spot their offspring’s talents, thus taking advantage of longer time than others and helping them to nurture their special abilities. Recent research in China suggests that formal schooling from early childhood has provided the country with a larger number of prodigies; consequently, China is able to allocate expenditure to those students and train them for a longer time. What can be inferred from this is that both the government and the children can reap the benefits of going to school only to develop their talents sooner.

On the other hand, some people consider children being under seven to be inappropriate for formal education. To be specific, children over seven are believed to have developed sufficiently to be able to acquire a firm grasp of the curriculums. This model of education has been applied in almost every country and has proven to be effective as there is no nation abolishing the scheme. This directly suggests that only allowing seven-year-old or older children to have access to school is prevalent around the world.

Despite the two views, I believe people should prioritize children’s will over their ages. Only when children are allowed to pursue their dreams will they best develop their scholastic competence and characteristics. Nevertheless, sometimes, imposing on children can be counterproductive and culminate in children being under pressure. Therefore, parents should only act as guides and provide supervision in order to help their offspring discover true talents and support them to keep them on the right track.

In conclusion, children should be given the right to decide when to start studying regardless their ages, and parents are needed to help their children to achieve success.