In some countries, young people have become richer, healthier, and live longer, but they are less happy.

What are the causes?

What can be done to address this situation?

It is ironic that although teenagers nowadays are wealthier, more secure and healthier, they are less joyful as their parents did. I believe this is because of the pressure that parents put on their kids, and they must take steps to mitigate these problems.

First of all, one of the causes is that parents put too much expectation and pressure on their children. Many parents demand their kids to be the best that sometimes they just can’t just for the sake of honor. Therefore, the children are struggled with all these pressures that their parents have made. For instance, Asian-moms always force their kids must bring A band score to home; Otherwise, they will be blamed or even a punishment for it. Secondly, adolescents nowadays seem no longer to have freedom anymore. They can not do something that they really want to do since they have to listen to their parents. In other words, parents have banned children’s dream. As a result, there is undoubtedly made some negative consequences such as depression or even a much worse scenario.

However, there are several actions that parents could do to solve these problems described above. Firstly, parents should be friends with their children, pay more attention and sympathize with their kids to make them feel like they are protected by their children, therefore, they could have a memorable childhood. A second measure would be for parents to encourage their kids to learn all the skills that they want to, thus, all their potential will be fully developed to be more successful than others. For example, Elon Musk, who has a burning ambition about space, is now one of the pioneers in the exploration of space.

In conclusion, tension and lack of freedom are the two main reasons for these problems and there are various measures that parents can take to tackle this problems for their kids to have a memorable childhood.