In some countries, young people have little leisure time and are under a lot of pressure to work hard in their studies. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

It is widely true that in the modern era, teenagers endure a lot of pressure in terms of study, causing them to not have much time to engage in leisure activities. There are a number of reasons behind this problem and several solutions should be proposed to mitigate this negative phenomenon.

There are two primary reasons why the young have little time for relaxation and feel stressed out about their studies. One reason is that the economic environment of the country and living expenses contribute to this problem. For instance, as living in developed nations where labor markets are extremely competitive, parents usually urge and educate their children to study hard at a young age in order to seek a stable job in the future, which might put pressure on children’s minds. A second cause is that a heavy curriculum also makes teenagers feel stressed. In fact, if there are four or five subjects in a semester, students have to put more effort into studying and catching up with the lesson, which means that less time is spent on extracurricular activities such as sports and arts.

However, there are several solutions that the government can take to tackle this problem. First, rather than forcing children to study hard to pursue high-income jobs, parents should help their children develop their natural talents or hobbies. For example, if a child is good at finding out fashion, parents should encourage and facilitate them to develop in this field, which might develop a career in the future. Second, teachers should reduce homework and try to finish the lesson in class. This means, teenagers have more leisure time to participate in outside activities, which relieve their pressure at school as well as enhance concentration.

In conclusion, the young bear a lot of pressure about the study, but there are a variety of measures to deal with this problem.