In some countries young people have little leisure time and are under a lot of pressure to work hard in their studies.

What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

The hustle of modern days is accompanied by a lot of pressure on people, especially the young. Nowadays, young people in certain countries are getting stressed out by heavy study and little free time, raising alarm bells about the well-being of the future generation. This passage will look into said issue in order to identify the possible causes and propose a feasible solution.

In my opinion, I believe there are two main reasons.

Firstly, the constant development of education in many places around the world, while resulting in better performance and achievements in students, has called for greater competition and peer pressure among learners. This leads to many working harder for fear of falling behind, even if it means cutting down on their reasonable leisure.

Secondly, the tension comes from not only schools but family and society as well. In many countries, especially those in Asia, young people have always been burdened with high expectations from people around them, like being continuously compared to other peers or having more disadvantages in job-hunting than those with better academic records. Consequently, they are often burnt out from trying to meet others' demands as well as putting aside hobbies, sleep, and entertainment.

To follow up, there are two solutions that I reckon are relatively practical concerning this issue of stressed young people. Firstly, there should be measures to encourage healthy and interesting after-school activities among students, namely soprts, art, craft, etc. with a view to helping with the reduction of stress from studying. Secondly, I strongly support the idea that there be a large-scale revolution in public mindset, that one's ability should not be judged based on their academic records alone, but rather their actual performance in practice.

Overall, the reality of young people's stress over their studies is possibly caused by competition among peers and overwhelming external expectations. This is a potential threat to the young generation, which is why it ought to be taken into serious consideration and proper solutions should be carried out in a prompt and relevant way.