In some cultures children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this massage

" The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance"- Socretes. Even though, working hard can not be defined only in the context of education, it has a wide application. The prompt asserts that in certain societies, children are advised that they can achieve anything if they are persistent enough. I mostly agree with this contention, although I do concede that in some instances it creates a negative consequence. In this essay, the advantages will be discussed with a few disadvantages.

Firstly, children need inspiration more than any other age group. Only by motivation, they will venture into trying new things such as playing different sports, taking part in plays-dramas, trying out for singing competitions, and many more. Motivation leads children to feel encouraged to experience new realms of learning, not only in education, but also in other categories. Because, most of the time when children do not feel motivated or inspired, they let go everything and do nothing. This is a stark contrast with adults. For example, if a child and an adult were assigned to learn a football trick or learn how to score goals from free kicks, there would be two outcomes: if the chilld was not motivated, then he would immediately resort to giving up, whereas, the adult knew from his past experiences that tenacity would truimph eventually. Therefore, motivation is needed for a children's cognitive development in all areas.

However, there are negative repurcussions too from over motivating children. Because reality is cruel, sometimes trying your best do not give postive results. A child can achieve small tasks that he/she was assigned because most of them are trivial. But, in adult life, it is not easy to accomplish everyhing only by trying hard. For instance, everyone does not have the same creativity when it comes to writing literature such as poems or novels. Even if one tries his best, and duel at it for months, there might not be any result. Moreover, the inspired children find it hard to cope with the realites, and sometimes fall victim to psychological disorders and even committing suicides. Hence, there are dangerous outcomes too from over inspiration to children.

In conclusion, unless efforts are made to achieve something, it will not be possible to be successful at it. But, there should be a reality check too. The perfect method should be the amalgamation of both of these.