The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

A business manager of a television station recommended that they should go back to their original allocated time for weather and local news inorder to get more viewers and advertising revenues. In support of this statement, the snubbing of adervtisements of a few local businesses and the complaints of the viewers were stated. The statement of the manager has a few assumptions , if the assumptions are left unanswered, they will weaken the argument.

At first, local businesses rescinded their advertising contracts with the television station. The argument rests on the primary assumption of this event is that because of the dearth of time in local news of the television, they (the local businesses) withdrew their advertisements. There may be several other reasons behind it , such as: the economy of the particular area may have significantly dropped. Therefore, these businesses may not be able to financial cope up with the additional advertising money. Another reason may work , which is the advertisements in the last years had worked so broadly that the businesses do not need more advertisements. Their targeted customers already has the knowledge of them. Additionally, they may have found other sources of advertising which are proving to be more effective. If these are true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Furthermore, there were complaints from the viewers of the shortage of local and weather news. This statement also needs some proper evidence to be backed up. It was vaguely defined that there were complaints. There were no proper number or percentage associated with it. There may have been ten or hundred of complaints. There has to be a solid empirical analysis about the complaints. We can not truely say anything about this factor without assessing the complaints from a methodological view. The complaints may have been from the people who are only interested in local news, but not in the state or nationwide news. Making these complaints a biased speculation, which should not be taken into account. Even if the complaints have proper empirical back up, still it is not enough because complaints do not predict the actual behaviours of the viewers. Maybe, even if the time allotment were restated, they may not watch it. Ergo, these needs proper evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed with numerous unwarranted assumptions which need adequate evidences to make a cogent case.