In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything they want if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is irrefutable that children are the torch bearers of the future.

Children are often told that nothing is impossible to be achieved by them if they put enough effort to do anything.

This nothing has its own advantages and disadvantages.

So this essay shall intend to discuss both the negatives and positives of this belief.

On the brighter side, It is well said that If children and younger generation are have enough motivation they can do anything no matter whether it is hard or easy. So, it's the duty of mature ones to motivate them as this can be helpful in many fields, as children can come up with new ideas and inventions if they are confident about what they're doing, The same goes for academic field where some children and students lack motivation so, there's need of motivation which is often provided by their parents.

For example- Children sometimes have a lot of talent but they hesitate to use it because they are usually anxious about failure.So, if their parents provide them with motivation and confidence they can actually achieve things which can earn them a great recognition.So, It is important to supply them necessary confidence via motivational messages.

On the darker side, This message has some disadvantages too. As, such messages can result into overconfidence which is believed to be a bad thing. Further, Supplying children with such messages can also motivate them to indulge into activities which are really risk and have harmful outcomes, to examplify this- Extreme sports are activities which are not suitable for children but still some children get involved in them due to the overconfidence they get from those messages, Hence, It is often forgotten to take risk factor into account, Furthermore, There have been many incidents where overconfidence resulted in children talking part into activities like driving a motorcycle and end up falling which can cause many injuries.

To conclude, It would be reasonable to say that these type of messages can help children to accomplish great achivements if they're being motivated to perform activities which are suitable for them.