Some educationalists argue that non exam art based subjects such as music drama art and craft should be compulsory in the secondary school curriculum They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance To what extent

Nowadays, many education experts claim that non-test, art-related subjects such as art, music, and handicraft should be put into practice in the secondary school system as these activities are believed to enhance students' academic scores. In my view, I am partially convinced by the statement for some reasons.

First of all, making art-relatED subjects obligatory would create a massive burden for students since the official compulsory subjectS like math, chemistry, physics, or English are already HARD to follow. In reality, the majority of universities in Vietnam are educating colleges pursuing science professions involving physicianS, engineerS, biologistS, or accountantS. However, the number for art schoolS seems TO BE MARGINAL. For instance, ACCORDING TO A SURVEY DONE BY A LOCAL MAGAZINE, 100.000 science professors are trained a year, whereas the FIGURE for the artistS AND musicianS seems to be over a thousand annually. For that reason, students would prefer logical fields to artistic majors.

On the other hand, switching OPTIONAL subjects to the obligatory ONES would encourage gifted students like cleverness or drawing. When it comes to the Vietnam teaching method, we usually think of the plain dreary theory classes. Students have to spend many hours in those classes rather than having practical lessonS. Hence, changing the PRIORITY of compulsory subjects will create a new playground for students and improve academic scores for those who love the arts. For instance, many experts divide intelligence into nine categories, but education in Vietnam only focuses on two types: logical intelligence and verbal intelligence. Perhaps, if the education system could widen the essential subject spectrum and reduce the volume of knowledge, then it would be helpful for art lovers.

In conclusion, I admit that science classes exert a direct influence on the development of a nation. However, ART also plays an equally important role in the education system as it could help students to be creative and improvE their ACADEMIC PERFORMANCE.