Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

it is incontrovertible that nowadays the investment for children finding out an external language is a concern of our own society. some specialist argued that starting to learn a foreign dialect in elementary school will be more effective for children than in junior high school. this essay aims to highlight both benefits and drawbacks of this point.

On the one side, there are many advantages for children when they study another language at primary school instead of beginning at secondary school. Actually, kids, whose age from five to nine, have ability to remember things faster and easier than people from other age groups. For example, my little niece, who is only six years old, can repeat quickly some short sentences in English in cartoon films. In addition, because of carefree mind, children can catch more points in the early age. On top of that, through learning another language children can approach to different cultures and mentalities, which will help them thought-provoking.

On the other side, besides these benefits, starting to study a foreign dialect at the early age also exist some drawbacks. Firstly, it is too young to learn more subjects at the same time. it could be a waste of time since children need to focus on other subjects such as math, mother tongue language,… Secondly, the dearth of knowledge about their native language will obstruct children learning another language’s process. As a result, children are prone to language disorder. According to education experts, this symptom appears more and more due to the general trends and parents’ expectation.

In conclusion, after analyzing both views, it is clear that although learning another language in the early age has some disadvantages, I think that benefits still dominate the drawbacks.