Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantage outweigh the disadvantage?

Some authorities hold the opinion that it is more favorable for children to learn an additional language at primary schools instead of secondary school. There are both liabilities and utilities to this as will be explained, though overall, it is controvertible the positive aspects outweigh the problems. This essay will first demonstrate that the youngsters who start off learning a language soon would likely to achieve fluency in adulthood and that it brings positive elements to the cognitive ability of their brains, followed by how the primary disadvantage, namely confusion with native tongue, is not valid.

What further amplifies corroborates the dominance ascendancy of the advantage over the disadvantage is the sooner a child learns a foreign language, the more likely they would master it in adulthood. The rationale behind this is that they have more time to perfect their skills and hence, it is completely normal to be bilanguage. According to the PEW Center, 95% of people in Holland can speak fluently in English because most of them studied it before 6 years old. Furthermore, children who studying an additional language before they entering secondary school have high opportunities to outperform most of their peers. In other words, this would help the overall ability of children by encourage the cognitive ability of their brain from such a young age. The Times recently reported that youngsters who do so tend to be better at Math and History than kids who do not.

In the mid-immense of the disadvantage, the subject matter is not at all bereft of advantage foremost which is youngsters could confuse with their native one. This borne by the fact that learning a new language is very hard and thus, they would spend most of their time to work on this rather than their native tongue. Yet despite this fact, such us still inferior to the advantage discussed.

In gist, having considered both advantages and disadvantages, it is clear that there are more positive points to the topic and that a child could master both of the foreign language and the native one and enhance the cognitive ability of the brain by learning an additional one before entering secondary school. It is my firm conviction that the hindrance mentioned above cannot outweigh the aforementioned tangible benefits.