Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, some experts think that children should be taught a foreign language at primary school. While others think that they should begin learning at secondary school. In my opinion, I believe that learning a new language has more benefits than drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are also some demerits. The main disadvantages of learning a new language is that children can be under pressure. They have more subjects at school, such as math, literature,... which they have to pay attention to. Moreover, they need to have free time to play since they are children. If children have to concentrate on many subjects, they can be stressed.

On the other hand, learning a foreign language has a plethora of merits. Firstly, young children have good memories, so it is good for them to learn the pronunciation and try to imitate it. As a result, they may learn a new language very fast. In additon, children may not afraid of making mistakes while practicing since most of them are confident. This can helps them to learn faster. Secondly, learning a new language is helpful for children’s career in the future. In these days, young people prefer to work for a foreign country, and there are more opportunities for them in other country. For instance, if you want to work for a foreign company, you have to know their language. Many people have difficulties in language barriers. For these reasons, children should be taught a new language at primary school.

In conclusion, although there are also disadvantages, I believe that learning a foreign language at primary school has more benefits than drawbacks.