Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, learning a foreign language at an early age has become a controversial issue in society. Some experts think that it would be better to teach a foreign language to a child from age 5 instead of 11 years old. It seems to me that this trend brings more benefits than drawbacks.

It is true that the proponents of this view discuss that there are many reasons behind their claims. Firstly, approaching a new foreign language as early as the primary school could stimulate the cognitive development of children. To be more specific, being put under such circumstances will create an opportunity to practice the brain’s functions. For instance, a little girl-Annie can speak English fluently who is famous on a youtube channel as just 3 years old. Secondly, children are more likely to achieve fluency skills in picking up the pronunciation of the newest language. This is because young children will easily imitate in terms of phonetics and tone of native speaker much better compared to older people. Therefore, this is pros that help children listen, understand, and reflect proficiently in a second language.

On the other hand, some suggested that learning two languages at the same time will cause a language disorder. To explain, this could delay the development of a child's mother tongue if children have to absorb another new language. Besides, the supplement of a foreign language into the curriculum puts a heavy burden on the child's learning process. Meanwhile, other subjects are of fundamental importance at that age such as maths, the first language, science which need a host of time to deal with, learning a new language is confusing and wastes time. However, these obstacles will be addressed to maximize the benefits of learning a new language if we have appropriate access to education for the child. The school and family who play a pivotal role in boosting children’s schooling need to make a suitable schedule to strike balance between studying other subjects as well as follow them to check your child's progress to avoid being overwhelmed.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that primary schools are the best places to enhance our children's language ability for the above-mentioned reasons.