Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent year, the idea that learning a foreign language should begin at primary school rather than secondary school has become a broad issue to the general public. However, other think that it could also have some negative effects. In my opinion, its cons could not overshadow its pros. Discussed below are several benefits as well as drawback of this issue.

First and foremost, people should recognize that there are many advantages of learning a second language at primary school. A very important point to consider is that it is easier for a child to absorb a new language in his or her earlier years. This means that younger brain are able to retain information in a long term. To illustrate this point, studies show that there is a critical period for language acquisition develops readily which is between age 5 and puberty, after that language acquisition is much more difficult to fluency. Another point I would like to make is that at primary school, there are not abundant subject to study would allow for other activities beside the school system. For example, young children will be able to engage with picnic or multimedia like music or movie to enhance their progress as well as their interest.

On the other hand, in addition to the important advantages of this problem, it has a disadvantage. In fact, people have this opinion because the quality of primary teacher would not maintain a qualified foreign language program. This means that the outcome could be insufficient and the student have negative experience in learning language. This can be shown by the example that some secondary students consider their second language unrealistic due to the lack of chances to practise with native speaking.

In conclusion, the above mentioned fact have outlined the benefits as well as the drawbacks of this issue. Its disadvantages should be taken into account. People should take advantage of the pros and minimize the cons of this issue.