Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Experts do believe that learning a foreign language would help children to enhance their ability to communicate. They say children should learn it at primary school rather than secondary school. However, there are certain advantages and disadvantages if we practice this belief.

Firstly, the main advantage of learning a foreign language is to have a little exposure to communicating with people in different places. For instance, if a child knows how to speak a language with its respective grammar, the other person can totally understand what the child says. It builds confidence, individuality, and certain traits that help children to get that zeal to learn new things as well.

And, the disadvantage might be the following case. For example, if a child learns a foreign language in primary school, he or she would be using the same daily, but people around them may not know the same language as he does. So in this case, it is necessary for a child to first learn their native language with proper understanding and grammar, then he can implement that in understanding a foreign language in secondary school so that it gives them the level of confidence, excitement, and the strive to learn a new language.

Therefore, disadvantages outweigh the advantage in the above-mentioned cases. Rather, it can be suggested that children can learn their native-speaking language in their primary school and then a foreign language in secondary school so that they will be able to cope up with it efficiently and could understand the language. It develops confidence in speaking and can communicate effortlessly.