• Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Possessing curiosity and seeking novelty eternally, primary school students are supposed to have a higher competence in learning a foreign language than children at secondary school. In my opinion, educational authorities should be more supportive of this view. However, we also have to consider a few minor disadvantages.

On the one hand, younger children can understand a language twice as fast as elders do, meaning that younger age owns learning speed faster. According to language experts: ‘The brain of a 3-year-old child works twice as fast as an adult brain.’ It is indisputable that children at primary age are uncomplicated. They do everything which they want to do and study by emotion and all sense. In addition, the development process of primary students is try-wrong-try, they aren’t afraid to be wrong. They keep their passion with novel and attractive things. Furthermore, 7-11-year-old students or smaller are more likely to absorb the melody, diapason, harmony of songs with their flexible ears quickly. They imitate the pronunciation of pleasant new words in songs so that they hone their listening and speaking skills.

On the other hand, grammatically correct use of a second language is slightly difficult for children at primary school. One of the reasons, children’s hyperactivity causes poor concentration that decreasing the theoretical capability. Meanwhile, secondary school students must learn more grammar knowledge. Nevertheless, the enormous amount of knowledge from many subjects that made them under pressure cause decreasing interested in studying new languages. By contrast, younger children merely concentrate on mathematical skills along with literacy of mother tongue language. Even so, it is a bit overwhelming for them to have to learn two languages at the same time.

On the basis of the foregoing, I punctuate that primary school focus on encouraging foreign language exposure possible by creating an entertaining environment for them, a method which, in my point of view, should reduce pressure on primary school students.