Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.
Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?
Traditionally, children have begun studying foreign languages at secondary school
but introducing them earlier is recommended by some educationalists. This policy
has been adopted by some educational authorities or individual schools, with both
positive and negative outcomes.
The obvious argument in its favour is that young children pick up languages much
more easily than teenagers. Their brains are still programmed to acquire their
mother tongue, which facilitates learning another language and unlike adolescents,
they are not inhibited by self-consciousness.
The greater flexibility of the primary timetable allows for more frequent, shorter
sessions and for a play-centered approach, thus maintaining learners' enthusiasm
and progress. Their command of the language in later life will benefit from this early
exposure while learning other languages subsequently will be easier for them.
They may also gain a better understanding of other cultures
There are, however, some disadvantages. Primary school teachers are generalists,
and may not have the necessary language skills themselves Ilf specialists have
to be brought in to deliver these sessions, the flexibility referred to above is
diminished. If primary language teaching is not standardised, secondary schools
could be faced with a great variety of levels in different languages within their
intake, resulting in a classroom experience which undoes the earlier gains. There
is no advantage if enthusiastic primary pupils become demotivated as soon as they
change schools. However, these issues can be addressed strategically within the
policy adopted.
Anything which encourages language learning benefits society culturally and
economically, and early exposure to language learning contributes to this. Young
children's innate abilities should be harnessed to make these benefits more
achievable.