Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

In this day and age, it is sometimes argued whether children should learn another language at an early age. While some experts think that it is better for kidding to learn a foreign language at elementary school, I personally believe that there are also drawbacks.

There are some reasons why primary school should teach foreign languages to children. Firstly, lingual skill is one of the most essential factors in daily life and it would be easier for anyone to learn a new language at a young age. For example, the way children approach the new language is totally different from adults due to the fact that they have no pressure of learning it for any purposes, and because of that, the interest may grow a little by little. The second reason why this issue is supported is that learning languages from the beginning means children have more time to practice that language so that they can apply it in real life sooner than their peers. Finally, learning new languages helps brain development not only for adults but also for kiddies.

In spite of the above arguments, I also believe that learning foreign languages at a young age has some drawbacks. Unarguably, many parents agree that the schoolday is already long enough, and leaves their children too tired to study another language. In doing so, their children do not have enough time for other activities such as: playing sports, hanging with other kids, and interacting with parents. Furthermore, parents also do not have enough time to review the language lessons with their children along with the present curriculum. Thus, this cannot optimize the effect of the children’s study.

In conclusion, teaching a new language for children at elementary school certainly has its advantages, but I believe that there are also inevitable drawbacks