Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a foreign language plays a significant role in the growing process of children. As a matter of fact, in recent years, most the parents especially the ones who are from urban areas, reckon the necessity of changing the learning English environment for kids at a very young age. That is why it is controversial that children should commence learning a foreign language at elementary school instead of intermediate/middle school as usual. From my perspective, kids should be gotten in touch with a new language as soon as possible although it has some positive and negative aspects someway.

Initially, it is undeniable that children who have early exposure to learning the second language, are apparently enabled to learn faster as well as easily grasp knowledge. One of the reasons why is because at this stage their brain is like a blank paper, they will obtain in their mind what is taught. Moreover, children can pick up the pronunciation better or enhance their reflection because they are less arrogant and are not afraid of making mistakes. Errors are the foundation of practicing when learning something. If you want to know something inside out or get achievements, do not hesitate to make mistakes.

On the other hand, forcing or abusing children to learn many different languages may backfire in their life. At this period, they are still young so they can not spontaneously afford to learn many subjects because, besides language, they still have other subjects such as maths, mother tongue language, science. It could waste not only their time but also their parent’s support. Furthermore, they will also be pressurized and it somehow causes psychological illness, this kind of disease will baffle their physical and mental development.

In conclusion, learning a new language at a very early stage can bring some benefits and drawbacks. Apart from being easy for them to gain a thorough insight into the language and flourish communication skills, it could raise some disadvantages that they will not have enough time to complete other activities.