Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

These days, there is a common belief that a foreign language should be inserted into the syllabus at elementary schools rather than secondary schools. While this has certain drawbacks, I am of the opinion that the merits will utterly overshadow those negative points.

As a matter of fact, there are a couple of compelling reasons why individuals hold the belief that letting children learn a foreign language at elementary schools is not beneficial. First and foremost, at the early age of 6-10, the majority of students will have a predilection for playing games, singing, or coloring, not for studying. Because they still do not have any awareness of the benefits of learning. Thus, learning a second language will be time-consuming and unnecessary for those children. Secondly, some children will find it challenging for them to study both the mother-tongue language and the second language, thus they will get confused between the two of them.

Turning to the other side of the argument, a foreign language should be added to the curriculum as soon as possible, especially in primary schools. First of all, some research has shown that because of the brain’s elasticity and rapid neural formation young children can learn languages at a faster and better rate. Thus, before being mature, learning a new language will be easy and effective. The second reason is that a second language gives kids an edge over their peers by increasing problem-solving, critical thinking, and listening skills, as well as improving their memory and concentration ability. As a result, children with knowledge of other languages experience greater cognitive flexibility and creativity.

To conclude, there are some aforementioned disadvantages caused by this trend. However, I believe that they are eclipsed by many tremendous merits. So, it will be a good way to add some foreign languages to the syllabus at elementary schools.