Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a foreign language plays an important role in people’s life and there are some professionals who argue that children should have access to this since they are in primary school. While there are some drawbacks in this opinion, the benefits should be paid more attention to.

On the one hand, a child who is in primary level has a brain which is not fully developed enough to study another language while still learning their mother tongue. As a result, that child could not be fluent in either their mother tongue or a foreign language. Moreover, children at the age of 6 to 10 need more leisure time in order to do things that they feel interested in, rather than studying for the whole day, and the consequence is that there will be negative impacts to their both physical and mental health.

On the other hand, children in primary level can absorb new information quickly and that information can easily be stored in their long-term memory. Taking that advantage, students in primary school can be taught foundation knowledge of the language that they are studying and this can be a great premise for their advances. Besides, in today's world, the sooner children get access to foreign language, the better future with promising career and opportunities they can have. For example, Assuming that there are 2 students who are the same age. One student who has studied a foreign language since primary school may have more time to improve his or her skill than the one who studies since secondary. When they have to sign up for a university, or a company, a person who has better foreign language skill can be chosen first while the other might not be picked.

In conclusion, learning a foreign language at an early age can have some disadvantages, however, the advantages in this situation are undeniable which outweigh the drawbacks.